top of page

Pray With Dr.Diana Brevan 07-09-24




Psalm 19 – David’s Prayer in Response to God’s Glorious Self-Revelation

Keep back your servant also from willful sins. Let them not have dominion over me.Then I will be upright. I will be blameless and innocent of great transgression. Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in your sight, Lord, my rock, and my redeemer. (verses 13–14)

The first section of Psalm 19 (verses 1–6) praises God for revealing Himself in creation. “The heavens declare the glory of God” (verse 1). The second section praises God for revealing Himself in His Word, explaining that God’s Word revives the soul, makes wise the simple, rejoices the heart, enlightens the eyes, and is greater than gold and sweeter than honey (verses 7–11).

David closes the Psalm in a surprising way: a prayer for protection against sin. Just like nothing is hidden from the heat and light of the sun (verse 6), the Word of God shines light that exposes the dark corners of our souls (verses 7–11). David pleads for God to help him to live a God-honoring life.

3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page